Pocket squares and a new machine

Due to the generosity of my impending mother-in-law, I now have a new sewing machine to play with, after mine died a burny smelling death.

I was going to knock up a couple of pocket squares by hand, and try and roll the edges and slip stitch them so the stitches wouldn’t show, but I wanted to give my new machine a go and I figured that the way you fold the pocket square, no-one will ever see the edges anyway. All I needed was a quick hem to stop the edges fraying, so here we are.

Pocket kinda-square

New sewing machine is pretty nice, but why is every machine a nightmare to thread? There must be an easier solution.
One more tie to go and then I am done with satin for good, too slippy by half.

Also, how the hell do you sew corners without them looking all scrappy? I should probably google that.

3 thoughts on “Pocket squares and a new machine

Leave a comment